1. Education

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:

http://esl.about.com/u/r/od/esleflteachertraining/gr/itoireview.htm

was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Most Emailed Articles

Now We Can Begin

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

User Reviews

Online English Teaching Certification

User Rating 3 out of 5
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
OnlineTEFL.com Certificates Are A Worthless Scam!April 28, 2013 By GaryTheGrinch
Would you pay money to attend a university if no employer recognized their diploma? Well the situation is exactly the same with OnlineTefl.com fraudulent certificates which have zero accreditation and are not recognized in Asia and most of Europe. From what I can see they are only accepted in the U.K. some Eastern European countries and Central America. But when I spoke with their sales rep before I enrolled seven months ago, I was emphatically told that without a TEFL certificate I could not possibly get employed as an English teacher in China, Korea, nor Japan. I was just told by five different employers in those countries that are interviewing me that ""TEFL certificates are not required"". Draw your own conclusions.
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Why does this only speak of one online course?July 24, 2011 By CarlPine
I am doing a 120 hour course with TEFL Express, I got it for 69 pounds, down from 369. Fantastic. Friendly people and no trouble. I'm off to Guangzhou as soon as I finsh.
20 of 24 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
horribleFebruary 16, 2011 By KatyESL
This is an infomercial more than a review. The online course is extremely easy and there isn't enough practice on lesson planning. i-to-i is very poor for the price they charge.
21 of 27 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
ItoI is very poorJanuary 20, 2011 By BrianjBarr
I would like to start by stating that Ken1010's review has blatently been written by itoi. I think this is very poor as this is a user review website geared towards consumer advice. I have found this on many sites that itoi staff overun them with misleading reviews. This is obviously the mark of a desperate company with no social conscience. I would like to say that I have a job teaching abroad and I passed the course before itoi writes a review above claiming that I am a)stupid, and i couldn't complete their ridiculously easy course. B) I couldn't get a job (presumably linked to my stupidity). I am experienced tefl teaher and I thought the course would be worth doing but it wasn't. It was ridiculously easy and most of the subjects covered were repeated in different courses so you are paying to learn the same thing over and over. Once I discovered this I was outraged and I asked for a refund. They refused and told me that i was stupid and wrong for asking for a refund. DON'T GET A TEFL WITH THIS COMPANY!
10 of 14 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
You get what you pay forJanuary 11, 2011 By Ken1010
I completed i-to-i 120 hour instruction and found it quite helpful. I would do it again if I had the opportunity. There is interactive response from the staff as well as detailed feedback from tutors when your quizzes are reviewed. If you're not getting satisfactory answers to your inquiries, you're not asking the right questions. Most people who take 'correspondence' courses never complete the work -- that's always been true, ask any educator. Most folks don't have the motivation to slog through the material on their own. The externally imposed regimen of regular class times helps many a student to complete their schooling. However, if you really think you'd enjoy working in a foreign land, surrounded by people who rightly view You as the foreigner, living in a different culture -- adventuresome is the word -- then the online tefl course is for you. i-to-i has plenty of folks with good tales to tell about their success. None of them waited for the instructor to ask if they needed help. Take this opportunity if you are brave enough to see it through. I think, if you don't like the course or the method, perhaps overseas English is not a good career choice for you. Cheers from Shanghai! Zi jin. - Ken
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Don't botherJanuary 10, 2011 By jjdbarr
The course content is poor. It may seem cheap but it is actually worthless when you come to get a job so overall all you have is an expensive bit of paper. Most people actually don't put an itoi tefl on their CV. I didn't like the course and asked for a refund. They were extremely rude in their replies. Overall not worth doing.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Good but not that goodOctober 08, 2010 By bedu
I did their 60 hour course. Very helpful tutors, clear instructions and the benefit of doing it online, whilst working in a full time job. The bad news is however, is that not all employers recognise the use of an online TEFL certificate and i-to-i is not that well known as a course provider. I also found out that even though my head was full of knowledge, the online course was not good at helping you put it in to practise. It takes a lot of practical experience to learn how to teach, unless you are a 'natural'.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
i to i online courseSeptember 23, 2009 By parker32
I enrolled on this course after reading the reviews on this site, but apparently i to i now have a new online course. I've only completed the first two modules but I'm finding it really great. I get responses back from a tutor within a few hours and I'm surprised by how interactive it is for an online course. Definitely worth the money so far!
9 of 14 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
i to iAugust 29, 2009 By PeterBrown07
I guess that the writer above was unlucky in their allocation of tutor as I share the article writer's impression of i to i. Its really very good and very thorough. In my experience the Tutor has been brilliant making excellent suggestions for improvement wherever necessary and generally being very supportive. Any e mails are answered promptly and work marked and commented upon quickly and in great detail. The comments are professional and helpful. The course itself is not at all prescriptive and there are many suggestions and links to wider research and reading.
49 of 52 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
i-to-i courses are greatJuly 14, 2009 By MattCraig55
I'm guessing that last review was posted by a competitor as I've just completed the 20hr Weekend Course and found it to be a great introduction to TEFL. We were taught teaching techniques, lesson planning and even got a few practice runs. All in all, I have a lot more confidence getting up and teaching English to people who know very little. I've also started the online course and find that my tutor is very helpful and always responds within a day or two. The theory makes total sense and I'm learning a lot from it. I'd recommend i-to-i to anyone wanting to start a career in TEFL.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Too automatedApril 02, 2009 By healey10
I began taking this course some time ago and unfortunately found it very frustrating. It was the online version I did. Basically I found it all formulaic and had no real interaction with anyone to help me along. The way the course was presented was dull and the worst thing about it was that when I was in trouble I went online and found I wasn't the only one! A quick google showed that frustrated students were swapping answers and getting help from each other! Where were the teachers? was my question. Anyway, I got my money back and took another online course with another provider (ICAL) and (I""m pleased to say) it's proving much better.
18 of 24 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
TO OTHERSNovember 09, 2008 By paserly
Well, I would like to recomond this website for the others to improve thier english speaking,writing and listening skills. thanks
21 of 34 people found this review helpful.